• facebook-icontwitterrss


Thanks for all you do!

Jim_SchaeferCongratulations to Jim Schaefer for receiving the Sertoma Service of Mankind Award. Jim is a current member on the Alumni Association Board of Directors and a 1970 graduate of Columbus High School. Jim has served in many community volunteer capacities for over 30 years. For 31 years, he has served the Boy Scouts in various leadership roles such as Scoutmaster, Unit Commissioner Den Leader, Pack Leader and Counselor for Citizenship and Eagle Scout Review Board. Jim has also volunteered in Kiwanis, AYSO board and as a coach, Platte Valley Literacy Council, Library Board and Columbus Library Foundation Board.

AAMemberButtonYou can now pay your dues or make donations through PayPal. Click on the link  below.

Make Donation Through Paypal!

About US

CPS History
The Columbus Public Schools Alumni Association Association was formed in 1990. The first board members were President Steve Anderson ’68, Jim Ernst Sr. ’53, Gayleen Oppliger Hingst ’60, Dorothy Encinger Kyriss ’50 and Bob Jaeggi ’47. The first newsletter was published in 1990 and mailed to approximately 10,000 alumni.

The Alumni Association was incorporated in 1993. The purpose of the group is to support and promote activities and programs for the alumni, Columbus Public Schools Foundation, and the staff and students of the CPS district.

Today the newsletters is mailed two times a year to approximately 11,000 alumni and once a year is done electronically

The Alumni Association also assists with reunion planning. Reunion organizers can get a class list and mailing labels, use the non-profit bulk mailing rate, schedule tours for CMS and CHS and receive tips for planning the event.

For more information on the Alumni Association, contact Michelle Cruise at 402-563-7000 Ext. 10651 or email cruisem@discoverers.org.

Board of Directors

President Shelly Nielsen-Schmidt ’88
Vice President Anne Cruickshank Hughes ’90
Treasurer Gayleen Oppliger Hingst ’60
Steve Anderson ’68
K.C. Belitz ’86
Amy Busteed Blaser ’88
Tom Goc ‘81
Abbi Groteluschen Hellbusch ‘02
Morgan Pillen Kapels ’05
Miki Averett Naylor ‘80
Jim Schaefer ’70
Annie Slusarki Sokol ’98

Keeping informed

Reunion Information